Wroxeter & Ludlow, 2 days in pictures.

Time for an adventure. Spare clothes, a toothbrush, a coat, a camera & some research. My travel essentials. 

Wroxeter Roman City. Initially a Roman military fort, later the fourth largest Roman City in Britain.

Close up of Roman masonry. The workmanship is incredible to admire.

This 7-metre high wall is the largest piece of free-standing Roman wall in Britain.

The ruins of Wroxeter’s Roman bathhouse. With its hypocaust system. Hypocaust systems have always fascinated me, so simple & yet so ingenius. 

Always got to take a selfie, proof I was there. Even if I am rubbish at them.

Another view of the bathhouse’s hypocaust system. The furnace held the fire of course which then pumped the hot air out underneath the building’s floors.

The Priory ruins at Much Wenlock. Henry III visited here. Arriving too late, I was left to glimpse what I could from outside the walls. 

Christmas lights in Ludlow town. (Not sure how well this photo would’ve worked out without the great timing of catching the man’s silhouette.)

Ludlow Castle captured through a hole in its wall’s closed gateway. So impressive lit up at night, I had to find a way to take it picture.

An overnight stay & some much needed rest.

May I present the gorgeous Ludlow Castle. A foggy, wet day shrouded the castle in its own sense of history & mystery. The fog enhanced the castle’s atmospheric properties & even my soggy, wet-through shoes & socks couldn’t dampen the mood.

The view from the walls of the castle’s keep, looking down into the inner bailey. The circular building is the castle’s chapel. Internally it reminded me of York’s Chapter House, perhaps a bit of church & state going on.

Another selfie to prove I was there ☺

There were many luxury-level decorative details still remaining upon the castle’s buildings.

The inside of the castle’s chapel & some more highly decorative details.

A little modern graffiti? Or contemporary intentional decoration? Exquisite either way.

One of Ludlow’s beautiful buildings.

The vaulted ceiling of the entrance porch to Ludlow’s parish church of St Lawrence.

One of the ornate misericords (choir perches) in St Laurence’s, dating from the 14th & 15th centuries.

Another misericord. I loved how he was pulling up his ‘sock’ & so I had to take a photo. 

I knew Prince Arthur had died at Ludlow Castle (he was the son of Henry VII, older brother of Henry VIII & the intended heir to the throne), but I had no idea how young he was when he died.

Depiction of St Laurence in one of the churches beautiful & colourful stained glass windows. St Laurence was martyred by being tied to a gridiron & burned alive over hot coals. A romanticised story persists that after being tortured like this for a while, Laurence declared “I’m well done. Turn me over!”.

Leave a Reply

